Silhouette of an original John Deere plow surrounded by a green starburst

John Deere
Fellows Program

Rewarding Our Top Experts

The John Deere Fellows Program is the highest level of individual recognition to employees who have contributed to John Deere's success through deep expertise in their functional areas, demonstrated leadership, and their reputation inside and outside the company.

At John Deere, we recognize and celebrate our innovative thinkers, leaders, and doers who steer us into the future and, with a shared higher purpose, enable lives to leap forward.

2024 Fellow Award Winners

Last Year's Winners

2023 Fellows

  • Portrait of Dave Lemm


    Dave Lemm

    Recognized as a Structural Design & Analysis Fellow, he understands the disruption failure can cause and works to ensure Deere quality and reliability.

  • Portrait of Goutam Mohapatra


    Goutam Mohapatra

    The Materials Engineering Analytics Fellow recipient utilizes artificial intelligence and machine learning to turn the puzzle pieces of production into world-class products.

  • Portrait of Shawn Phillips


    Shawn Phillips

    Having already created one of the company’s most impactful manufacturing tools, our Factory Automation Fellow now looks to advance the technology in our factories.

  • Portrait of Mike Waldo


    Mike Waldo

    As a Software Engineering Fellow, he makes the invisible a powerful and productive solution for our customers and their businesses.

John Deere Fellowship Archive

Expand AllCollapse All


  • Kurt Chipperfield: 2022 Advanced Visualization Fellow
  • Clayton Janasek: 2022 Drivetrain Control Fellow
  • Rich Humpal: 2022 Application Technology Fellow
  • Lara Baugh: 2022 Risk Management & Insurance Fellow
  • Kent Wanner: 2022 Electrification Engineering Fellow


  • Dr. William F. Cooper: 2021 Physics Electronics Materials Fellow
  • Dr. Günter Hähn: 2021 Road Construction Technology Fellow
  • Gregory C. Finch: 2021 Digital Technology Fellow
  • Steve Sass: 2021 Heat Transfer & Fluid Dynamics Fellow
  • Glenn Pope: 2021 Crop Harvesting Engineering Fellow
  • Dr. Georg Kormann: 2021 Integrated Solutions Fellow


  • Dr. Gilles Dryancour: 2020 Public Relations Fellow
  • Wissam El-Ratal: 2020 Virtual Engineering Fellow
  • Sue Gray: 2020 Agronomy Fellow
  • Dr. Brij Singh: 2020 Power Electronics Engineering Fellow
  • David Smart: 2020 Software & Network Engineering Fellow


  • August Altherr: 2019 European Innovation Delivery Fellow
  • Noel Anderson: 2019 Strategic Intellectual Property Fellow
  • Martin Kremmer: 2019 Technology Innovation Fellow
  • Carol Lewis: 2019 Human Resource Fellow
  • Dr. Adrian Rantilla: 2019 Market Research Fellow


  • ​Jørgen Audenaert: 2018 European Precision Farming Fellow
  • Dennis Bowman: 2018 Tractor Engineering Fellow
  • Dr. Klaus Hoehn: 2018 Technology & Engineering Senior Fellow
  • Dr. Fred Nelson: 2018 Precision Ag Systems Fellow
  • Dr. Julian Sanchez: 2018 Technology Innovation Fellow
  • Dr. Long Wu: 2018 Power Electronics Engineering Fellow


  • ​Dr. Danan Dou: 2017 Power Systems Engineering Fellow
  • Dr. Mohamad El-zein: 2017 Materials Engineering Fellow
  • Shufeng Han: 2017 Automation and Controls Engineering Fellow
  • Juergen Hollstein: 2017 Electronics Engineering Fellow
  • Cory Leland: 2017 Metrology Engineering Fellow
  • Teryl Oftedal: 2017 C&F systems Engineering Fellow
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Pickel: 2017 Agricultural Systems Engineering Fellow
  • Dr. John Reid: 2017 Technology Innovation Fellow
  • Dr. Ramanathan Sugumaran: Honorary Data Science Fellow
  • Richard Wubbels: 2017 Hay and Forage Engineering Fellow


  • Dennis Anstey: 2016 Hay & Forage Systems Engineering Fellow
  • Roger Mohr: 2016 Construction & Forestry Business Development Senior Fellow
  • Terry Pickett: 2016 Intelligent Solutions Fellow
  • Dr. Carol Plouffe: 2016 Soil & Crop Systems Engineering Fellow
  • Craig Puetz: 2016 Drivetrain Engineering Fellow
  • Dr. Bernard Romig: 2016 Vehicle Dynamics Fellow
  • Dr. Nicolai Tarasinski: 2016 Vehicle Systems Engineering Fellow
  • Robert Wick: 2016 Customer Support Fellow
  • Dr. Richard Winsor: 2016 Internal Combustion Engines Fellow


  • John Brown: 2015 Financial Law Fellow
  • Dr. Liwen Dai: 2015 GNSS Engineering Fellow
  • Dr. J.B. Penn: 2015 Global Agricultural Economics Senior Fellow
  • ​Dr. Satyam Sahay: 2015 Materials Engineering Fellow
  • Al Smemo: 2015 Powertrain Engineering Fellow